Class S and PAYE Credit

locutas

As a director of a company I pay Class S rate of PRSI. This does not entitle me to "normal" SW benefits, but you may apply for means-tested allowances.

As I have never paid any other PRSI classes I assume this will affect my state pension (I am currently in my mid thirty's)

I work in the software industry as does a brother of mine who also run his own company (no current company relationships), Can we employ each other as employees and pay each other lets say €10K

Would this mean we can claim the extra tax PAYE credit?
Would this mean I can work up stamps for a state pension?

Personally this sounds like it would raise some eyebrow's of concern from both our accountants and the tax man, am I correct and for what reasons?

CLASS S BENEFITS
  • Widow's or Widower's (Contributory) Pension
  • Guardian's Payment (Contributory)
  • State Pension (Contributory)
  • Maternity Benefit
  • Adoptive Benefit
  • Bereavement Grant

You will get a state pension (see above).

You will receive a pension as above. I would be more worried about you're lack of social welfare benefit if you cannot work due to illness or accident etc. If you haven't already done so you should seriously consider taking out an income protection policy. It shouldn't be too costly as it looks like you have a class 1 occupation and your company can write off the premiums as an expense. For disclosure reasons please note that I am a broker.

www.powerinsurances.ie

Personally this sounds like it would raise some eyebrow's of concern from both our accountants and the tax man, am I correct and for what reasons?