Claiming back VAT on 4x4

Ron Burgundy

hi,

i work as a sole trader but am thinking of starting a seperate limiting business. I currently have a commerical 4x4 but if i started the limited business could i claim my vat back in one lump or should i do it on a bi monthly basis ?????

If you paid for it in one lump sum then you calim the VAT back that way but if you are paying for it HP monthly then you have no choice but to claim it bi monthly.
You can only reclaim VAT in the period in which you pay it.

If you already own the vehicle. How are you going to transfer ownership to the company.

If you already own the vehicle. How are you going to transfer ownership to the company.

i bought it last jan, but i might treat myself to another new one in jan 08, only part of it will be financed as i traded in a car that i owned fully.

4x4 cost maybe 40k and i put in 10k of my own.

might i just be better advised to bring in one from the uk if i can get my own sold ????

You can only claim VAT back on something if you have a VAT invoice for it.
You could sell your own and then lend the money from the sale to the company. The company can then put that money towards the purchase of the new one and claim the VAT back on it.
You can then repay the loan to yourself at a later date when the company is in funds and not pay tax on it.

oh i know that but i want to keep this business seperate. it would be an agency and all work would be on a sub contract basis. therefore i would be sub contracted to the business

If you paid for it in one lump sum then you calim the VAT back that way but if you are paying for it HP monthly then you have no choice but to claim it bi monthly.
You can only reclaim VAT in the period in which you pay it.

wrong, with hire purchase you can claim all the vat back in one lump sum, if a lease you claim bi monthly.

also, reclaim vat depends on invoice date, and not on payment date.