Changing accountant - CRO and other implications?

Nostromo

Advice requested please...

How hard is it to change accountants?

What are the pitfalls and obligations with regard to the CRO, Revenue etc.?

What do I need from my soon-to-be-ex-accountant? My accounts and paperwork are very slight (I'm an IT contractor Ltd. company, it should be very straightforward) but he has some bank statements and receipts, do I need these back (I have photocopies)?

Thanks - N.

If you have selected a new accountant then they will write to the existing accountant on what is a standard procedure letter. They will get all the necessary information to continue. They will usually write to Revenue to advise of the change so that copies of relevant correspondence go to them and not the old accountant. The CRO is not a problem unless your companys registered office is at your accountants address in which case you need to get that changed.

Once the existing accountant has written to the new accountant with the requested information and you have your original records back then there should be no problem from there on. Of course any fees due to the existing accountant would want to be discharged.

Graham, thanks very much for that useful info.
Can anyone recommend an accountant for this kind of business? I'm in the west but it seems to me that the accountant could be based anywhere.

Can anyone recommend an accountant for this kind of business?

If your "accounts and paperwork are very slight " as you say, most if not all accountants should be able to do your work, from what you say. Its just a matter of getting quotations from a dozen or two.....are seeing which are most prompt and efficient in giving you the quotations as well. Shop around. Just like the price of petrol varies, so do accountants, only more so.

> By the time you contact the first dozen, you probably would have most of the work done yourself.