Car Loans, Deposit Funds and more...

Hanley

Hey all, first time poster. This is a repost of something I put up on boards.ie but I'm trying to do as much research as possible so I hope reposting this here is ok.

I've been doing a bit of basic research on what I'm about to post so forgive me if Im missing some blindingly obvious points. And I apologise in advance for the length of this post.

I'm a final year college student and will be starting work with a major Audit firm next October so I figured it was about time to do some financial planning. My 3 main concerns right now are 1) getting a nice car (as a college completition present to myself!), 2) building up a deposit for a house and 3) making sure I've budgeted well enough to do both of the above and still have a decent enough standard of living.

I expect to be earning c 1,800 net (after tax and some money to my 'rents) per month in my first year, excluding bonuses. I'm not sure of the wage progression but by the time I've fully qualified (3.5 years after I start), I would hope to be looking at earning 40-45k pa, all the following numbers are based off year 1 earnings tho.

So firstly, I plan on spending about 25k on a car (approx 24k loan). A bit over the top I know, but that's the plan. I've checked around online with various banks and the best rates seem to be from BOI, Halifax and PTSB. Each working out to 471 per month over 5 years. Cost of credit's around 4.5k, BUT I'd rather do it over 5 years as it would allow me to build up a bigger house deposit fund by the time I finish my training contract.