Car Insurance -first timer .. questions!

E

easyquestion

Hi,

I've just bought a 94 1.2 corsa & am looking for insurance. i'm a 25yo female with no previous driving experience and the car is only worth a grand.

Everyones telleing me to go for 3rd party... is this right ? even if Comp is only 100 quid more expensive ?

Eagle Star have quoted me 1307 for 3rd p,f&t
Quinn Direct quoted 1275 and Axa 1,370 for 3rd p,f&t and 1460 for comprehensive...

What company should i go for ? i've read bad press about QD.. please advise, and also,
do i need a 'protected 'no claim discount' which will not be affected provided that not more than 2 claims occur during any 3 consecutive years of insurance ? If i take this from Eagle star, and if i change insurer next year, will i loose it ? or is it obselete if i take it cos this is my first year driving ?

I can't find any t&c's to insurance on the web & when you ask them on the phone they just babble on.

Any ideas & all advice is greatly appreciated !!

and no smart comments from the lads about women drivers !

Cheers

Did you try 123?

Figures sound about right for what my friend is paying, 29 on second prov lic.

Did you try www.123.ie for a quote ?
And I found that getting quotes on the web was cheaper than ringing same company, something to do with different ways underwriting, anyhow give site above a go.

IFSRA recently produced this survey (PDF) [broken link removed]

Marion :hat

Thanks for the help

Hi,

I've decided, after much agonising, researching and hunting on the net to go for AXA. They're the 3rd cheapest quote i got, but think they offer a better service all round.

The cheapest quote i got was from Quinn Direct - but i've read alot of bad press about them, so staying well clear - plus their excess is around the 300 mark.