Car Insurance claim

Chris

Hi all, just wondering if someone has some advise.
I had an accident in my girlfriends car for which I'm a named driver on the policy. So far everything has gone smoothly with logging the claim and the ball is rolling. I'm just wondering whether I have to inform my own insurance company, for the second car, about the accident at this stage, or whether I do this when it comes to renewal? The girlfriend is insured with Quinn Direct, and one person there said we need to do this now, and another said it needn't be done until renewal.
Anybody have an idea?

You'll have to notify your own insurer before renewal that you've had a claim — albeit on a different policy — as this will probably affect your premium (unless it's covered by NCB protection? You don't say what the amount involved is...)

Not much point in leaving it to the very last minute, as they'll probably send you out a renewal 'invitation' based on the assumption that you've remained claim/accident-free. When they hear about the claim, your premium will probably be revised upwards. So you might as well give them the full details before then, see what they quote you for renewal, and leave yourself time to shop around for a better quote if you can get one...(?)

Thanks DrMoriarty.
There is only physical damage no personal injuries. The estimate is for €3100. Anyone know how much this might change my policy by? Insurance company can't give a figure until renewal date.

Thanks

Chris said:
There is only physical damage no personal injuries.
Well, that's something to be thankful for, at least...
Chris said:
The estimate is for €3100. Anyone know how much this might change my policy by?