Car Hire Gatwick Airport

IrishGunner

As the title states looking to hire a car for a week collecting and deliver to Gatwick airport

Checked out skyscanner for comparisons etc and looking for something simple for family of 3.Staying in Sussex so wont be doing mad mileage and may go down to the coast

Any recommendations etc as plenty of options just want to choose right company and all the hidden costs as have not hired a car out in ages

Sorry but I have no previous experience of renting at Gatwick Airport but just wonder if gocar might be an option. Friends have used the service elsewhere and have found it good.

There is a very old thread here from AAM which might give some help.

Thanks had a look and seems a bit more expensive than say some of the other car rental comparison sites but thanks for the suggestion

Its the hidden extras that I am worried about and although price looks good you go into the T&C and all the excess and deposit difference for different cars

Just going to look for something small and simple

Whatever you do, make sure the company you choose is based at the Car Rental facility at the airport. Most of the cheaper options are offsite in some area nearby, which means waiting for a shuttle to take you there (could be 5 miles or more) and then filling out the paperwork there before getting the car. Same on return which means you may have to factor up to an hour extra for your journey time. We rent twice a year there and go for Europcar or Sixt.

Whatever you do, make sure the company you choose is based at the Car Rental facility at the airport. Most of the cheaper options are offsite in some area nearby, which means waiting for a shuttle to take you there (could be 5 miles or more) and then filling out the paperwork there before getting the car. Same on return which means you may have to factor up to an hour extra for your journey time. We rent twice a year there and go for Europcar or Sixt.