Motor Car Accident - Excessive Repair Costs / Go Through Insurance?

meganal

Hi guys,
I am after getting into a small accident and i frankly don't know what to do. after much research it turns out that the damage was done costs around 800-1000 euro to fix, but the other party involved in the accident is asking for close to 4000 euro in unnecessary repair costs. the damage was merely just a scratch on the side of his car and the person is being very unreasonable and keeps threatening he will claim off my insurance. can i let the assessment go through the insurance and then pay it off myself? as a young driver i cannot afford to pay such a large sum of money out nor lose my no claims bonus.
any advice?

If they are being unreasonable then you are probably better off leaving your insurance company deal with it. The third party is entitled to go to whatever garage they want to (within reason) but the insurance company will appoint an assessor that will make sure the costs stack up. If you pay the money yourself, the third party could still come back and claim off your policy. Best leave your company deal with it and you can always repay your insurance company before next renewal date and get your bonus back.

If you pay the money yourself, the third party could still come back and claim off your policy.

This is a very important point. They could come after you at a later stage for medical or other costs, and your insurance company may refuse to indemnify you if you did not notify them of the claim within the required period.

You also have the option of allowing the claim to go through your insurance company, and then repaying them.So if the damage is only worth €800, and that's what the insurance company is prepared to pay out, you could then repay that and keep your no claims.

Just a few observations ;

1. OP is obliged under contract to notify his motor insurers.
2. OP is obliged under statute to notify his motor insurers.