Can you manage without a credit card?

M

Mrs Darcy

Hi,

This is my first time posting, I'm just looking for some input from people more financially wise than myself. Basically, I have a credit card and there is nothing on it at the moment. I tend to use it for booking flights and hotels, online shopping(when they won't accept laser cards) and then I clear the balance. However, I did have issues in the past where I let it run up, loans to clear it, let it run up again etc. That was years ago though and I feel I have a good handle on my finances now. All the same I am thinking that having no temptation of that kind might be best for someone like me.

What I want to know is can you mange without a credit card? Do you find it a hassle traveling without one for example? And is there less protection with your laser and the visa debit cards we will all be issued later this year. Last year I booked a hotel with a hotel booking company that went bust. As I booked it on my credit card I was refunded the money. This wouldn't have been the case if I paid by laser.

Any input would be much appreciated.

thanks

Mrs D.

I have a direct debit set up on my current account so my credit card is paid off in full every month.
When spending on the card I am always concoius of the fact that i will have to have the funds in the current account on the due date. This I find restricts my spending on the card to essentials- booking flights, hotels, concert tickets etc.

For other purchases I use laser.

I find it very handy for on line purchases / booking anything.. once it's cleared the next month, then there shouldn't be an issue...

Think I would miss it a lot, if I was to give it up....

Reduce your credit limit, I reduced mine to €1000.