Key Post Can my girlfriend get ownership rights to my house?

kINGKONG

Hi,

Apologies if this has already been discussed.

I am buying my first house as a single person.

The property I am buying is the house I am renting with my girlfriend.

we have been jointly living in the place for 14 months and have been going out the last 4 years.

The mortgage I am taking out on my own including the initial deposit coming from my own savings.

From a legal stand point (Co habits couples act etc..) do I need to do anything legally to protect my myself if the unlikely event my relationship with my co habiting partner ceases?

Tks

This is a very interesting question, which I have heard discussed a few times, but have not seen a systematic answer to.

Treoir has an excellent booklet Cohabitants - New legal rights and obligations for opposite and same sex couples

This is my summary, but I am not a lawyer
She can claim to be a cohabitant after 2 years if you have children together or 5 years, if you don't have children.

If the relationship ends, she can apply to court for an order for:

• compensatory maintenance
  • pension adjustment
  • property adjustment
  • provision from your estate after you die
If you are a qualified cohabitant and can show the court at the end of your relationship that you are financially dependent on your ex- partner you can apply for a Compensatory Maintenance Order, which is an order for regular maintenance or a lump sum.

If you are a qualified cohabitant and can show the court at the end of your relationship that you are financially dependent on your ex- partner you can apply for a Property Adjustment Order - an order which transfers or settles a property.

There is no automatic right to such an order. She must establish that a) she is a qualified cohabitant and b) that she is financially dependent on you

What does the court take into account before making these orders?