Can I drawdown on my pension before I retire?

Dave Byrne

I'm a >50 year old PAYE employee. I have a pension from a previous employer and a private pension from when I was a a contractor as well as a pension with current employer (None are DB).

I need to source funds now, can I draw down on any of my pensions now?

Thanks

Can you say what types of pension product each are, e.g. Occupational Pension Scheme or PRSA for the old and current company schemes? Possibly Buy-Out-Bond (a.k.a. Personal Retirement Bond) for the old employer's one. Personal Pension or PRSA for the private pension? Different rules exist for different types.

Both the oldest & current ones are occupational pensions (both I & employer contributed / contributing). Tx

Both the oldest & current ones are occupational pensions (both I & employer contributed / contributing). Tx
Well it depends on the individual scheme rules. Some may allow you to access the benefits (retire the benefits) before your Normal Retirement Age. Others may not, unless you are ill or disabled.
So you need to check with your previous employer whether they will allow you access the benefits before the nominated Normal Retirement Age.

Well it depends on the individual scheme rules. Some may allow you to access the benefits (retire the benefits) before your Normal Retirement Age. Others may not, unless you are ill or disabled.
So you need to check with your previous employer whether they will allow you access the benefits before the nominated Normal Retirement Age.
Emailed my previous employer. Let's see what they come back with. I also have a PRSA (from my contracting days). Not sure if there is any avenue there to redeem?

Emailed my previous employer. Let's see what they come back with. I also have a PRSA (from my contracting days). Not sure if there is any avenue there to redeem?