Buying a used car thats been imported from UK?

Toby

Some of the cars we're looking at have been imported from the UK. They are being sold by dealers. Is there anything to be concerned about in this situation or anything in particular we should check more carefully?

Thank you

Have the car checked on http://www.motorcheck.ie

You are trying to find out really if the mileage can be confirmed and if there is any outstanding finance owing on the vehicle.

Ensure the dealer pays the VRT for you and that you complete the normal Irish Change of ownership forms.

Also, very important. When you try to check the vehicle you will have to get the reg from the dealer. If the dealer will not tell you the UK Reg(some dealers can be shady carachters) then RUN AWAY.

I am no expert on this but changed my car earlier this year. I was advised at the time that the resale value of a UK import would be less that that of an equivalent Irish one. So if you plan to resell in a few years, keep this in mind. I found at the time that UK imports were not much better value.

you'll find most are imported. All dealers are at it. Not a big deal but do do the check above

thank you all very much, was surprised to see UK reg on some cars I was looking at on carzone and just wondering if it was a bad sign.

If its a BMW then dont be too surprised.

If you are any way savy you will go to the UK and buy it yourself and save a bigger wad of money.

BMW were promoting it recently as their "Sterling Cars" which basically means they head to the UK and buy a 3 series for €24,000(incl VRT) and come back here and sell if for €29,500(incl VRT).

Soooooo you could get a cheap flight to the UK, get an RAC check done the same day on the car, drive back on a Friday giving you until 5pm Monday afternoon the go to the local VRT office and hand over the money. Saving yourself a lot of money.