Builder Quotes - a mystery

noodle

Just got planning.... finally.
And have entered the unknown territory of working out the mystery of builder's quotes.
Neither of us involved have any links with the building trade - so no contacts, and real potential for ripping off.
Anyway I'll get to the point.

We had 3 quotes so far from contractors - varying from €78 sqft to €116 sqft, not including kitchen..... tiling.... floors... windows......

(And quotes for a 50sqm garage range from €15000 to 43000)

However, the quotes are very variable in what they include... e.g. boiler, solar panels... etc

What should we be looking for in a quote - as I am a complete novice, could someone please list all the categories from site works/foundations to ...... (?) that we should be getting numbers for....

Finalise the plans and get each builder to quote on delivering the building as specified in the plans. If they want to leave something out, tell them you can't do business with them.

That way you'll get quotes that are at least comparable in scope.

yes use the plans as a contract doc. If its on its in. Theoretically evry bidder should price the same items this way ( give or take )

If you are as complete novice as you say I would run the quotes by your engineer. As he is not a QS he may not know the value of works too wel but he/she will certainly tell you if they have priced as per the drawing, left anything out, over/underpriced work.....

If they have prepared the drgs they will obviuosly be familiar and in a goo postion to help out.

Also lowest aint always best, try and ring past clients to ensure quality punctuality etc.. before selecting.

Don't be surprised if the quotes vary by one hundred percent between builders for the exact same spec. That was our experience nine years ago, my sisters experience last year and a good mate of mine this year - TBH I coudn't believe the variation between the quotes when we built.