Broadband (DSL) no longer working

Sherpa

We've had broadband (from eircom) for over a year now and it has always worked fine. Now, out of the blue, we're having problems (no connection).

As far as I can make out, it seems to be a DSL problem - the "DSL sync" light isn't lit up any more, and when I run the Netopia diagnostic utility it says that the DSL sync has failed.

I'm not a techie, but that suggests to me that there's a problem with the phone line. Can anyone shed any light on this?

Thanks!

I have also had problems recently with broadband.I am with eircom and rang helpline which were extremely helpful and talked me through it. Ring your provider and ask for assistance.

have you since installed anything in the house that runs from your phone line, eg sky? This causes "noise" on the line. When I connected up for the first time, I had to disconnect my sky+ phone line and my multi-room phone line for it to work. worked fine then.

The filters only apply to filtering the frequencies for POTS vs ADSL services. It's not a filter for keeping the signal clean. There might be some inteference on the phone line within the house.

Yes - but I assumed that MrF was referring to the SKY+ use of the POTS line perhaps causing interference with the ADSL something that should be avoided by a correctly installed ADSL filter.

have you since installed anything in the house that runs from your phone line, eg sky? This causes "noise" on the line. When I connected up for the first time, I had to disconnect my sky+ phone line and my multi-room phone line for it to work. worked fine then.

We have a sky box and a monitored alarm, but neither of them have been installed recently - both of them pre-date the broadband and they all seemed to work fine together for the last year.

The position now seems to be that we're getting intermittent DSL syncing (but still lots of down time).