Bringing 4" vent through beam

jrewing

I am looking at installing an island extractor hood in my kitchen. Getting an electric supply to the unit is no problem, but getting the vent to an outside wall means going through a wooden beam.

Any suggestions for bringing a 4" vent through a 9" x 2" beam ? Should I use a short section of a smaller diameter vent and put a 2" (for example) hole through the beam and connect to 4" each end ?

Or is there anyway to brace the beam top and bottom, so I can put the full 4" hole through ?

I would prefer to stick to 4" all the way to maximize the extraction efficiency.

I can't imagine there is much load on the beam in any case, as there is little furniture in the bedroom above.

All suggestions welcome - thanks !
JR

I'm no expert, but tampering with beams seems dodgy to me. I wouldn't think the lack of furniture upstairs is significant - Is the beam holding the room up, rather than the contents of the room? Can you pipe out the vent just below the beam?

Not sure if it's similar but seem a documentary on holmes on homes last week where it cost 8K to repair a house because the contractor cut through a beam to route a vent for heating...as a result structural damage was caused because it was a load bearing beam....

As rainyday has said it is not advisable to cut through a beam. Yo umight get away with notching a beam but not removing up to 50% of it. the beam is there for a reason and supporting furniture would not be the main one. Can you cut through under the beam and maybe hide the extract in one of the storage units?