Big Brand v's 'the rest' LCD TVs

Delboy

JVC 32" widescreen (old style TV) has just died after 4.5 years only (I always thought TV's could last for donkeys years). The screen kept going green which I think is a tube problem and now the TV just keeps switching itself off and on in the space of a second. Any idea what this could be?

But I plan to buy a new TV, LCD probably 32 to 37". And was wondering if anyone could tell me if the difference in price between Sony/Panasonic/Samsung is worth paying over brands like LCD or Sharp. Can you tell the difference

Sounds like tube alright delboy.
As for a new lcd, I would go to Aldi`s and buy whatever they are selling as they give a three year guarantee plus cheaper than almost everywhere else.. The days of buying named brands is gone as most lcd tvs are uneconomical to repair now no matter how small the problem is. I am a tv engineer for the last 29 years btw.

Not sure about Aldi option as I personally think they are quite ugly most of the time.

I recently bought a Beko 32 inch in Power City. It was on sale at the time for 400. Normally 500. Nice looking machine and no problems yet (admittedly only c2 months)

I have a scale in my head of crappy brands, the best crappy brands and good crappy brands.

I wouldn't stretch to a good brand name as I feel it's a waste of money but I also wouldn't but a crappy brand (Aldi, Lidl, cheapest option in Power City etc.) but I would buy a Beko as I feel this is one of the better crappy brands.

I more than likely have my thinking arseways but it hasn't failed me yet.