bias in the work force against those with no kids

pinkyBear

Sorry this is a particulary un PC rant but here it goes. We dont have kids and I work in IT - we have a release due out soon and all are working flat out to get things done on time - yesterday I put in a 13.5 hour day - today will probably be the same...
The parents of children - gone after the 8 hours - leaving the rest of us to pick up the flack...

Ah, that's a great one altogether . . . people who work an 8 hour day per contract are somehow being unfair to you.

If you have a problem then it should be with your employer, not with the people you work with.

z

not quite the same but many years ago i relied on dublin bus to get me to work, one particularly bad week i was late every morning by 5 to 15 minutes and was hauled in for being late, i retorted that I'm always here til 6 (finished at 5) he said i'd dont pay you til 6 but i start paying you at 9am, so from then on i made sure to be in a 9 but no matter what the issue was I always left at 5.

No I dont get overtime or time in lieu - I have a friend in Medicine who also has the same issue with being stuck with work that belongs to others because they have kids and they leave.
Dont get me wrong - I do have a heart, I would never expect anyone to work consistantly above what they should. But why should poeple with no kids take the additional work from those that do have kids....

In certain industries - like IT - there are times - not that often that the team do have to pull together to get stuff done...Extra hours are worked, what ever it takes.....

Do you HAVE to stay? Can some arrangement not be worked out with employer that everyone is putting in equal time in these scenarios?
I understand where you are coming from - I dont think its people with kids causing the problem, its a personal choice if you want to go home or not - the people with kids choose to go, you choose to stay.