Best Scotch Whiskey to buy for an American

Conshine

I am going on a trip to the US and a guy that I work with mentioned once that he likes Scotch.

I have never met him, but have a good working relationship with him and would like to buy him a bottle.

Any suggestions?

I am a bit of a novice really - I drink the stuff, in fact I drink almost anything.

I dont know if he is a single malt or blend fan.
Or even if Scotch comes in single malt etc.

Is the guy American? Reason I ask is that a lot of Americans say "scotch" for any whisky/whiskey that comes from these islands. In reality, a good Irish might suffice if you know anything about Irish whiskey.

Edit: Just copped on to thread title - he is indeed American seemingly :eek:

First thing you must learn as a Scotch Novice is not alone can they not make decent whiskey, they can't even spell it - their version is whisky.

You can buy single malt Scotch at a variety of ages in most good liquor stores or duty free shops, but why not introduce him to the joys of the real deal, genuine Irish Whiskey, the original uisce beatha, from similar sources.

If going the Irish route, I'm no expert (and true connoisseurs may disagree) but I don't think a Jameson 18 year old will disappoint.

Dungourney‘This is masterful stuff’ Jim Murray, Whiskey Critic
In 1994, the Master Distiller Barry Crockett made a rare discovery when making his rounds of casks at the old Midleton Distillery where his father, Max Crockett, had been the Master Distiller. It was a cask not identified on his stock charts. The cask had been laid down 30 years earlier, in 1964, and had escaped enumeration on the commissioning of the new distillery.