best programme on tv

blueshoes

going from slamdunkin's previous post on worst tv thought id start the best programme on tv one....

mine are corrie,top gear, and air crash investigation

Agree with Top Gear and also think The Long Way Down is great. Other half loves QI and Hidden History.

Thats a fairly mixed bag.

I would go for scrubs and family guy - always make me laugh.

The shield - little ott at times but entertaining all the same.

I can't think of anything that is currently doing the rounds that can live up to sopranos, west wing etc for good story and all that, but I live in hope. I'm bit more of a boxset man anyway cause i'm not very good at tuning in at the same time every week, I'm a random watcher!

Top Gear & Long Way Down are winners alright; Discovery channel used to have some great WW2 documentaries on but now its getting pretty repetitive with, how its made/mythbusters/chopshop repeats on loop monday to friday.
Any nature programs involving sharks/lions and other big animals are always a winner!

Top Gear, QI, The Panel, Heroes, The Wire was great but haven't seen it for ages, The Black Donnellys is pretty good too.

CSI
SVU
anything foodie, especially Rick Stein
Top Gear
Homes in the sun
re runs of any Lethal Weapon movies

SVU, Ramseys kitchen nightmares, The Panel, Scrubs and Spongebob Squarepants

oh and CSI & CSI NY....NOT that abomination that is CSI Miami...god David Caruso is sickeningly cringeworthy in that with his one-liners and endless stares into the distance and putting on & taking off of those damn shades !!

Interesting if ye look at these lists that the vast majority are not programmes in the old sense of the word - i.e. most are either quiz shows, cooking/diy type or else audience participation shows. Have to say there is not one single programme these days that I simply have to see ... apart from watching In The Night Garden with my little one!!