Balbriggan

Quigley

We are on the affordable housing list for fingal and realise that most if not all of the houses are out in balbriggan area.

Would appreciate information on the area, commute times etc. We live in Donghamede and little fella goes to school in Portmarnock, one of us works in the city and the other near the long mile road.

Would Balbriggan be just to far out? We have to decide whether we could live in an apartment but be near his school or would it be too squishy (we have 2 kids).

Would it be possible to commute from balbriggan to Portmarnock for school or it that just silly. Are there schools out in Balbriggan.

Sorry i have no knowledge of the area at all.

Thanks

i just started work there recently..and i love the place.!
a real nice vibe. mix of old and new. lovely people. defo one for the future. i would highly recommend it.! good luck!

Am living in Balbriggan for the past number of years - originally from Malahide.

When I moved first, I was still working in Malahide so commuted every day. Max of 20 mins on the diesel train & many people do it, and with children. I know of a couple of kids from the area who travel to Malahide for the secondary school no bother at all. Of course there are schools in Balbriggan, we're not out on the sticks but there is a strong demand for school places so you might want to check out availability with St Peter & Pauls, St Molaga's, Educate Together, Gaelscoil & the others.

I work in the city, commute can be tough as i'm on the far southside, but in saying that it's 50 mins by rail from pearse to Balbriggan station which is far superior to the journey by car.
Amenities wise, we've just got a new Dunnes Stores - about the same size as the one in Portmarnock, also a new 5 screen cinema, sorry the mind boggles when i'm put on the spot!