Backing up Address Book in Outlook Express

Status
Not open for further replies.

sherib

After recent problems I've been backing up My Documents onto CDs. This has gone OK using copy and paste. I've tried to do the same with the Address Book in Outlook Express but when I try to open it from the CD get a message saying
The Address Book has been locked by another applicatation
Would be grateful for any suggestion and hope that isn't too stupid a question. I've read that Settings (?system status) should also be backed up but even though I'm an Administrator that doesn't work either using a CD. The message I get from Backup Utility is:
The backup file name could not be used. "E:\Backup System State inc Registry 25.02.05,bkf". Please ensure it is a valid path and that you have sufficent access.
Have no idea where that date came.
:confused:

Just tried this on OE, File / Export / Address book and saved it as a WAB file. When I click on it, it opens fine in the same format as OE, should also make it easy to import. Just backup the file as normal.

You have a look at www.download.com for some free backup utilities to make it easier or automated

Re: Copying O. E. Address Book to CD - locked

Thanks for that advice stobear. It worked - up to a point. Exported successfully to My Docs where I could open it. However, when I copied it to the CD for back up purposes, it couldn't be opened. Message came up that it was locked by another application. In the end I copied it to a floppy disk and have no problem opening it there. Couldn't figure out any way to open the Address Book on the CD. At least I have a backup now. Could you try it and see what happens as the floppy was a last resort?

If you can't open it from a read-only volume such as a CD then presumably when it opens it OE attempts to write something to that volume so that it will only work from a read-write volume. Maybe there's a hack for this allowing access to backups on read-only volumes?