Authorised Advisors vs. multi-agency intermediaries

Brendan Burgess

Founder
From the IFSRA consultation paper:

There should be only three categories and they should not allow themselves to be described in any way other than:

Financial Advisor ( a fee based, commission refunding authorised advisor)

Financial Salesperson ( a commission earning representative of one or more companies)

Discount broker ( an execution only representative of one or more companies who will charge you a fixed fee but refund the commission they earn)

The key distinction should be who pays. If the customer pays a fee it is advice; if the institutions pays commission, it is sales.

The existing terminology is legalistic and confuses the ordinary consumer. How do multi-agency intermediaries introduce themsleves at dinner parties?

I am a multi-agency intermediary?
I am a financial advisor/consultant?
I am an insurance broker?
I sell life insurance?
I am a commission salesman?
I am a discount broker?
I am an investment advisor?

I think that the terminology should be standardised and made consumer friendly and absolutely clear.

If I go to a doctor or an accountant or a solicitor, I expect to pay a fee and get the best advice for me. Most people going to insurance brokers expect the same thing, even if the broker is a tied agent or commission based.

Only fee-based advisors should be allowed to use the terms "advisor" "consultant" "broker" or "independent".

It should be clear from their titles that commission paid sales people are effectively trying to sell you something. The simplest would be "financial salesperson". This would cover multi-agency intermediaries, authorised advisors who get paid commission and tied agents.

Brendan

Above