Assistance in Choosing Car

InfoSeeker

Hi All,

I am getting a Saab car in the next couple of weeks and wanted people's advice.

I have read all the threads on this so I know it has an Opel Vectra engine, that the 9-3 1.9i Diesel is a better option with the Fiat engine, etc.

I have 2 choices at the moment & was wondering what people thought would be the best one for me.

Please note that I currently drive a 1.4 litre car which is 12yrs old:(
Therefore the step up to the basic Saab is a big one for me:)
I have very little knowledge on cars but I like the look of the Saab (realise this is a stupid reason to get the car) and it seems to be fairly reliable from my research.

Choices:
(1) 9-3 Saab 1.8 Linear Petrol, 43,000 miles, taxed until July1st (ie worth about 250), has most feature one would expect, ie alloys, etc but no leather interior but this does not bother me at all -> Price is 14,750 euros. Need to drive 3 hrs to meet seller and pay for mechanic/AA to check it out

(2) This option is being imported from the UK.
9-3 Saab 1.8t Arc, petrol, 59,000 miles, had all features you would expect and leather interior though as stated above this is not a major plus for me -> Price = 16,500 euros all in which includes vrt & delivery of car to the door

So can people let me know what they think given my background, ie moving from 1996 1.4litre so both cars are a massive improvement:)

If you need further info to make a more accurate choice then let me know & I will add it.

Also I am checking out the difference in tax & insurance between the cars as option 2 will be more expensive in this regard.

Tks,
InfoSeeker

If you tend to be on the rather gullible side, I'd recommend a car salesman - cum granis!