Assessor has decided i'm 100% liable...options & consequences?

W

worried man

Hi all,

A bit stressed out right now so please excuse the lack of syntax and disorganised flow to this, etc.. I was recently involved in a head on collision in my brother's car in which I am a named driver. The assessor has decided that I had crossed over to the 3rd party's side of the road and are therefore 100% liable. I was only travelling about 15kph as the traffic in front of me had just pulled off.
Both cars had been classed as "write-offs". Without wanting to give out too much information, due to concern for all parties' id's, the assessor has claimed that I was in full lock...i.e. turning across the road!! Due to the speed of the 3rd party I ended up doing a full 180 and the front of both cars were destroyed. I was not anywhere near full lock, not even 45degrees but I admit my wheels were not straight ahead, as I had to vear slightly to the right to go with the flow of the road and avoid opposite footpath to the left.
Fortunately there seems to be no major injuries arising from the accident(due to the amazing safety of recent cars which I have to admit suprised me) and I'm willing to accept a certain amount of fault but the cars are write-offs due to the 3rd parties excessive speed. However the claims manager has informed me that he cannot find out the speed at which the party's vehicle was travelling at the moment of impact and also he cannot find out if the 3rd parties lights were in fact on (which I query as I did not see anything approaching but cannot swear that he did not have them on). Initially, there were not witnesses to the crash as confirmed by the Gardai who were on-site for 20 mins but it now appears that the 3rd party has a witness who will claim that I attempted to cross the road in front of him. The guards (who were not witnesses, sadly) had stated the next day based on their evidence and statements that it was a head on collision and was 50/50 liable.