asked to become a partner

celtic

I am at the moment self employed in service industry almost one year.
I am making enough to take a wage and just about pay overheads. I cannot afford to pay staff and so I am carrying all on my shoulders.
Out of the blue I received a phone call from a competitor of mine asking about possibilities of becoming a partnership. He is working for himself from home, I have an office with good walk by trade and sharing all the expenses is very tempting but I am worried would we make enough to cover both our wages and make a profit.
The advantages would be not only sharing ongoing costs and expenses but also increasing the area I already cover.
I have already put my own finances into this business and only just paid off everyone including signage and stationary. This would all have to be replaced and would also mean a name change.
Should he pay something into business
I am exhausted and stressed out and very tempted to go along with this.
i would love to have someone else to work with but I am afraid I may be ripped off and he would take all my clients.
I can't decide what to do..... please help

There are huge advantages and disadvantages to partnership.

Disadvantages
You will be jointly and severally liable for all the debts of the business. In other words, if he goes mad and loses lots of money, and doesn't pay his bills, you will have to pay them.

You lose control. You have to jointly agree business policies and practices. He may want to expand - you may not. He may not want to give credit to a particular client you trust.

You argue over the input to the business. You may work 80 hours a week, he may go off and play golf claiming that it is to develop the business through contacts.

You may treat customers very well, he may regard them as targets to be screwed.

You may have different attitudes to tax compliance.

So you should only go into partnership with someone you really trust.

Advantages
The advantages are huge also.