Artist keen to market/sell art-work

No.1 Fan

Hello All

I am an artist that specializes in contemporary art-work (block canvasses, mixed media) . I am keen to really get my foot on the ladder and want to know how best I can sell/ market my work. I am thinking of a few options. They are as follows :-

Maybe getting a trading licence to allow me to sell on the street (Is this possible ?)

Having them for view and sale in an Art Gallery (How do I go about this, is this closed shop ? )

All suggestions are greatly welcomed and indeed if anyone needs a contemporary piece of art-work, let me know J

Many thanks

Tony.

Well my mother has been an artist for the last 6 or 7 years; not as a commercial one, but more out of enjoyment. She's a member of a local art group who between them organise to hold exhibitions every now and then in the local Arts Center. The fact that theres a group of them makes it easier to hold exhibitions and it would be quiet difficult for anyone of them to produce the necessary volume needed to fill a gallery. So first off its proably a good idea to get involved with an arts group or to even consider strating one. The rest of the members will proably be more interested in just painting than making money - but its a good start. Groups like that usually sell there works for between €70 and €250 each; depending on the piece. As regards marketing, it would be a good idea to start a basic website just to display your work; if someone takes an interest, all they have to do is check out the website. Kevin Sharkey, Graham Knuttell and all the other big irish artists have thir own websites.