Architect services - detailed drawings, are they essential?

C

Charley Bear

We hired an Architect to design an extension to our early 1900s cottage. The original cottage is approx 600sq ft and the new size of the house will be approx 1700sq ft. We were very happy with the design and have thankfully been granted planning permission to build it. We are complete beginners to this whole area and if we had our way would have just bought a bigger house if we could sell this one....Anyway the architect's fees for the first stage were €3000. We are now moving to the second stage and need to decide whether to engage the architect to do a set of tender drawings/detailed drawings. We want an energy efficient house as possible and are looking to engage with a consultancy service to provide a report which will inform the construction detailing. We are just a little surprised at the prices we have been quoted and would like some advice on the services that we should obtain at this stage. We have been quoted €4,500 for a set of detailed/tender drawings. €1500 for a structural engineer, €1600 for the consultant on energy efficiency and €600 to get a budget estimate for the build. That's €11,200 (+ VAT) before we even start. Our big question is do we really need detailed/tender drawings? If we hire a building contractor to oversee the build and use the energy consultant to outline what is needed to make the house as energy efficient as possible should this be enough? I suppose we are asking does a set of detailed/tender drawings pay for themselves by ensuring that all contractors tendering for the project price the same product and also help to keep things in budget. Also is there not an awful lot of overlap if there is an architect, structural engineer, energy consultant, quantity surveyor and main building contractor employed on the project?