Case study ARA back to full repayment - what's required?

Icemaiden

Hi,

Newbie here so please go easy :)

I have finished an ARA agreement with BOI a few months ago, just wondering what options can I expect from the bank in order to go back onto a full repayment mtg (which I can now afford in full), I heard they will need an SFS and all sorts of personal accounts etc (why, I don't know as I am confirming I can repay in full now), if true, are all banks the same or is this specific to BOI looking for so much info?

I can give whatever info needed here

Thanks in advance

Last edited:
Thanks for reply, it says in that they are obliged to contact the borrower 30 days in advance of the ending of an ARA, they haven't done that, it was I that contacted them about 2 months ago and they have only responded in the last few days to me via phonecall and SMS, I have made an official complaint about it.

Point 43 says the Bank must request an SFS, but mentions nothing of accounts, credit card statements, company accounts, tax compliance certs etc etc etc - are all those required by the code or just on a bank by bank basis? Being honest I don't want them seeing my spending habits/account balances etc via my personal current account with another bank and credit card statements via another provider, quite frankly it's none of their business. Have I the wrong end of the stick here?

Hi Icemaiden

A very interesting question.

Just resume full repayments. I presume that they capitalised your arrears as part of the ARA? When it expired, your repayments should go back to the normal level. Ask them how much that should be and pay it.

They should seek a new SFS only if you need a new ARA. The CB probably has some stupid rule but you should ignore it, unless, as Red Onion say, you might get into difficulty again.

Brendan

Thanks Brendan,