Applying for a credit card with AIB is an ordeal

deviant

Hi there

I am an AIB Student Mastercard owner. I recently applied to get the limit on the card raised, as I'm working full time now and the current limit of €1,100 is too low for my needs. I rang AIB to try and get it raised, but they told me that the limit on all student mastercards has been capped at €1k, and recommended I apply for an AIB Click Credit Card instead.

I did that - it's an entirely internet-based application process. After 9 days of nothing happening, I rang their card services dept yesterday to see what the holdup was. They told me the application has been denied on the basis that I would end up with two cards, but if I closed my existing card and transferred over the balance I could get the click card.

I rang card services again today, and I've now been told that I need to write them a letter, to inform them of my intent. I think this whole process is ridiculous. The AIB Click card is advertised as being easier to get as its all online, and yet its turned into a total ordeal. Is there an alternative and less bureaucratic course of action to writing AIB a letter essentially begging them to give me a new card if I close my existing one?

Any advice is welcome, cheers!

D

If you have a student account then it will not allow you to proceed, same with the platinum, it is automatic.

I noticed that AIB are starting to slip. At one stage they were the best now I am starting to wonder who exactly they have working in Card Services. They contradicted me recently and did not bother to say anything other than "oh, thats new" even though what I was talking about has been there for years.

On another note, they "upgrade" the card, I know they do this for a fact, I never heard anything about having two cards. call your branch relationship manager and they will contact card services. it can be done in a few minutes.

The only way you can apply for a click credit card is online sadly.