Any info on Kitchen Extension in Dublin?

armelodie

Hi ,
I was thinking of doing a Kitchen extension (Small enough 10ftX12ft), and would be interested to know of anyones recent experiences as I'd be a complete newbie (and don't have any contacts in the trade). Main questions are....

1. What are the pros/cons of employing direct labour (bricklayer/roofer/plumber/electrician etc) V's hiring 1 builder to do the lot.

2. Any issues with building over a sewerpipe in the back garden. Can access point and pipes be moved easily enough? (ours would be the first in the row of 4 in back garden).

3. Is it necessary to get an architect for such a small (straightforward!) build.

4. Has anyone bothered with a solicitor to draw up a contract. Or is there somewhere you can download a template contract. (tried google search and searching here)

5. Had a look at irishhomeextensions.com and they seem to offer the complete package. also timberlines.ie look good.if anyone has used these could they pm me.

6. I know from other threads that getting a ballpark figure for the cost of this extension varies (€200 sq ft!!) but I suppose I'll ask again just in case anyone has had similar size extension done. (not including kitchen units and floors)

Thanks a Million

Last edited:
i'm in the process of finalising plans for a single story extension in dublin and have decided that i'm going to take advantage of the slump in the construction market and get a contractor to put up the extension but i'm going to go direct labour for the tiling, laying floors and fitting kitchens and do the painting myself.
if you're happy with the size/shape of the extension then i dont think there's a huge need for an architect, any kitchen company will be able to design your kitchen on 3d so that would be a good reference for a builder regarding sockets plumbing etc.