Annual Accounts & CRO Annual Returns

TallPollins

Hi All,

I have recently created a ltd company. The main reason is the protection of ltd liability. I am in the BER Energy service sector.
I am also VAT registered even though I wont reach the threshold in year 1.

This business is a part time one for me. I don't expect a huge amount of financial transactions from month to month and I am confident enough that I can do my own VAT returns and also handle the PAYE modernisation/Payroll part as I have some knowledge in this area. I expect to take a small regular amount as a salary from the company on a monthly basis.

The one bit that I am not as confident about is the Annual Accounts and Annual Returns to the CRO. I would like to keep my costs here as minimal as possible.
My question is this... I assume that an accountant needs to do the annual accounts and AR to CRO? If there was a template that I could use then I would definitely have a go at bringing it to a stage where the accountant would have little work to do. My old account quoted me 1200 + VAT for this work which seem excessive in my mind.

Any advice on what the best way to proceed is?

If you can do your own VAT return, you can teach yourself to do your own CRO returns.

Two points,

- The filing deadlines are absolute, miss them and you will be fined and have to get an auditors report for three years.

- The CRO staff are very helpful. If there is anything you are unclear about you can get advice.

Why not get an accountant to do the returns the fist year, then you have a template specific to your company to work on?
Was the quote just for CRO or including Revenue returns?