Am I paying too much for my accountant?

LadyJane

I had a trawl through the posts and didn't see anything that answered my query specifically - it seems like "how long is a piece of string" however..

I am a sole trader - a consultant, with no overheads to speak of, no staff. I bill 40-55k a year. I submit my accounts to my accountant in spreadsheets for purchases , sales, expenses, and submit my bank statements for the year. I create about 20-30 invoices per year. I am not registered for VAT so no VAT returns are required.

My accountant is charging me around 1000 euro per anumn to prepare and file my income tax and to prepare year end accounts.

Am I paying too much? I want to shop around, as I wonder if I am helping to pay for the fancy office and deep carpet. I think my accounts are pretty straight forward although I really don't want to do them myself.

Last edited:
My accountant is charging me around 1000 euro per anumn to prepare and file my income tax and to prepare year end accounts.

Does this include VAT? Either way, it doesn't seem particularly high, especially if you're getting a decent service for it.

Yes this includes VAT. I guess I am getting a good service but I would not have anything to compare it to. Not particularly friendly, but I have enough friends. What I need is a good value, good accountant.

I bill 40-55k a year. I submit my accounts to my accountant in spreadsheets for purchases , sales, expenses, and submit my bank statements for the year. I create about 20-30 invoices per year. I am not registered for VAT so no VAT returns are required.quote]

You must register for VAT as your income is above the €37,500 threshold for the Supply of Services.

Speak to your accountant (or another one) right away to ensure you are compliant.

I had a trawl through the posts and didn't see anything that answered my query specifically - it seems like "how long is a piece of string" however..