Allianz Direct...house insurance query

Fauve

Hi
Just wondering if anyone can shed any light on this for me.
We have car insurance and house insurance with Allianz direct.
They are giving us a very favourable rate on Car insurance.
The house insurance is now due for renewal and having done a tiny bit of internet quotation browsing, 123.ie are coming out better.
I can't remember exact figures now but about €40 or €50 cheaper.
The contents value is linked to the house rebuild value with Allianz but with 123.ie we choose the contents value, this affects cost of policy.

I suppose my main question is if we change to another Insurer for house is the car insurance likely to rise thereafter?
(we will be ammending this shortly as plan to get a 2nd car soon).
Is there any way Allianz will decrease the content cover?
Is it safer to leave it linked to house rebuild value etc?

Any advice greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

I work in insurance. If you take the car from Allianz they will definatley load your motor policy by 10 - 15%. Basically, they are giving you a discount on your motor insurance as you have your house with them. If you no longer have your house with them; you no longer get the discount. You should ring Allianz and ask them to review your household renewal. Tell them you have an alternative quote with 123.ie and they will probably match it. There is no need to amend your contents sum insured with Allianz, the policy is written on this basis. They may not do this for you anyway.
I wouldn't recommend 123.ie really, let me ask you a few questions about them?
1. If you have a claim who will deal with it? Will they pay for a loss adjuster?
2. Can you call into their office - don't think so!!!!

Allianz is a very reputiable world-wide company with very qualified and experienced staff.
I would suggest you ring them and negioate your renewal and definatley stay with them.