aldi burner

S

setanta

Aldi are advertising a gericom external dvd burner for sale on Thursday 3rd March. It is advertised as multi format dual layer external dvd burner, burns dvds in both 'positive' and 'negative' formats. I am a novice at this burning game.The computer I use has a dvd drive and cd drive on it but no burner. If I were to purchase this product would I be able to burn dvd's and cd's and download music to cd's etc from this burner? They currently have a samsung TS H552 on sale for €90 but the gericom ones reads better for the extra €10. Replies greatly appreciated.

If I were to purchase this product would I be able to burn dvd's and cd's and download music to cd's etc from this burner?

That should be the case. Note however that most downloadable music tracks will be in one or other of the compressed digital formats (e.g. MP3, WMA etc.) so will only play on a compatible player and not on many CD only players. However CD albums can also be copied within the limitations of the relvant licensing/copyright agreement. You may need to check more carefully about the dual layer and multi-format support though and also what players that you own will be compatible with media that you write in this way. This DVD FAQ might be of interest to you.

thanks Clubman. at this stage dual layer = double dutch.
will follow up link though.

Basically:

Single layer = 4.7GB
Dual layer = 8.5GB (double the capacity)

Most commercial DVD releases are on dual layer media which is why when people copy them onto single layer writeable media they need to use something like DVD Shrink to compress the original. Dual layer should get around this particular issue.

mp3