AIB Student Account Expires ?

BillyNoMates

I'm a student who's just finished college. I have a student account with AIB and currently enjoy the perk of not paying account fees for such things as withdrawls, standing orders, maintenance fees etc.

My question is ... how long will I enjoy these perks before they turn my student acc into a standard acc.

Personally I believe the standard account charges are a rip off.

Check out PTSB's current account [broken link removed]
or NIB's [broken link removed]

After finishing college I was automatically transferred to an aib graduate account for a few years. I'm thinking about changing to a non-fee bank but after seeing the hassle that my boyfriend had transferring from aib to ptsb I don't think I'll bother.

I think AIB have a graduate package as well that may give free banking - not sure but might be worth checking it out. Think you also get discounts on loans etc. too

Cahir said:
After finishing college I was automatically transferred to an aib graduate account for a few years. I'm thinking about changing to a non-fee bank but after seeing the hassle that my boyfriend had transferring from aib to ptsb I don't think I'll bother.

Did he change recently? I was of the impression that the PTSB with their dedicated switcher team did it all for you if you gave them details of your direct debits etc.

He changed a few weeks ago and had to switch all of the direct debits himself. I also thought they were meant to do this. Then there were issues with his salary not being paid into the new account - probably not the banks fault I know but it basically left him broke for 2 weeks.

There's also the hassle of taking time of work to actually go in to the bank. I think he had to visit the branch about 3 times before the account was set up.

Cahir said: