Advice please re State Savings

bmd1001

I'm a complete novice but would like some advice. Basically I have about €30000 (life savings!!) to invest. I am looking for the safest place to put it. I believe the Government Bank Guarantee is coming to an end and so I was wondering if there is any more security with either the An Post Savings Bonds, National Solidarity Bonds or Savings Certificates. While i would like to earn some interest, my main concern is security. When I read the bumph you get from An Post it states "When you put money into State Savings you are placing your money directly with the Irish Government. The repayment of all State Savings money is a direct, unconditional obligation of the Government of Ireland". While this seems to give a bit more peace of mind than a bank investment without the government bank guarantee, i then think of the politicians in this country and wonder whether the quote above regarding the security of the State Savings is worth the paper its written on! Any advice ( in simple, laymans terms) would be appreciated.

My motto is best not to put 'all your eggs in one basket' so if it were me I would split it 2 maybe 3 ways as you do say security is the most important aspect of your investment rather than highest rates.

The Savings Certificates or Bonds give a good rate and if you have a look at the AAM Best Buys you should be able to make up your mind on where else you might save something.

Another option to have a read is http://www.nca.ie/nca/compare-savings-investments