Advice on buying a new business

The_Banker

There is a small leisure based business that operates near where I live and it is being run very badly from what I can see.
The opening hours are erratic and next week they are closing down for 2 weeks for the summer holidays.
The thing is, I can see a lot of potenticial in this business and if it was better run it could be highly profitable. When I say better run, I mean taking a few small steps to bring more customers in.
At the moment it seems to be a one man operation being run by an amiable chap close to or at retirement age and from what I can see he has no apetite for the business and is happy enough to let things slide as no effort is being made to bring in new customers.

I want to make him an offer to buy the business but I have no experience of doing so. As it appears to be so poorly run I don't expect he will have accounted turnover figures or if he does I don't expect them to be accurate.

It looks to me like this business is more of a hobby to the guy than a money making exercise so I am unsure of how to approach him. I don't want to pay over the odds but again if I make the approach I will be putting the ball in his court with regards to setting a price.

Any advice would be appreciated.

personally I tend to be a bit cynical about these 'under new management' type situations if I have been put off using the service for some reason previously (e.g. poor opening hours, poor service, prices etc). Generally I wouldn't be inclined (or bothered) to give the new owner the benefit of the doubt.

As such I would have concern over recovering the customers that have probably been lost (or never were) because of the erratic opening hours etc.

I can see a lot of potenticial in this business and if it was better run it could be highly profitable.