30 years old & no Pension !! Help.

Calcutron

Hi All,

This is my first post here, I need advice.
I'm a 30 year old single (at the moment !) female who earns €70k per year. I bought my home last year & was saving for that for a few years, no never got my pension going.
I work in the private sector. I have about €2k from an old pension in a previous job, and although there's no pension in my current job, I negotiated with them to put aside 5% of my net take home pay per year that can be put into a pension when I get it set up. So I have a few grand sitting there for that as well.

I'm in the process of building my savings up again (500 PM into First Active), and paying a €1,200 pm mortgage as well, so don't know if its feasible for the next year or two to contribute much more than €200 per month.

I'd be interested in people's views as to what I should do.
And also, do you know if I can get that lump sum from my salary put in tax free when I start up my pension?

Thanks !

First off I don't think that you should be panicing about this if (as it seems) you are. Have you read up on pensions and the options available to you both here on AAM and elsewhere (e.g. www.PensionsBoard.ie, www.ItsYourMoney.ie etc.)?
I'm in the process of building my savings up again (500 PM into First Active), and paying a €1,200 pm mortgage as well, so don't know if its feasible for the next year or two to contribute much more than €200 per month.
How come? €70K p.a. gross should be about €4K net p.m. Less €1,200 + €500 + €200 leaves €2,100. Where is this going?

Thanks Clubman.

Here's a quick lowdown of my outgoings per month:

Mortgage: €1,281
Mort prot: €29
Life Assure: €71
Savings First Active: €500
Savings C Union: €100
CCard payback: €350 (about €600 outstanding usually)
ESB: €40
NTL: €40
Car Ins/ Tax: €50
Gym: €60
Managment Fee for Apt: €150
I've no loans.

That's about it I think! Maybe I'm not managing my money as well as I should....