working for husband question?

juleno

Was wondering if anyone knows where I stand, I am a chef and my husband has his own catering business, I am on maternity benefit at the moment, and due back to work in june. My husband has been trying to get a chef with not much luck. I always helped out when hes busy but with two kids now on top of working probably not as a much. We then talked about me leaving my job and working for him, which would be ideal, really as I could get the work done and work around the kids etc. We have asked several people accountants , business people and get all different answers. He is a sole trader, CAn I work for him , get paid a wage, prsi contributions etc and am I still entitled to all my entitlements, ie if I were to have another baby will I get maternity benefit, sickness benefit , dental benefit, state pension, come the time. As we don't want to go ahead with this if I lose all of these as he has none as a sole trader, some say I can, some say I can't, and when you even ring revenur etc don't get a straight answer. Thanks in advance

It is a very interesting question.

If you go into partnership with your husband, you will both be self-employed, so you would not be getting those benefits.

If you become a PAYE employee of your husband, I cannot think of any reason why you would not get those benefits. You would be classified as an ordinary A1 employee for Social Welfare purposes. The best thing is to phone the "Scope Section" of Social Welfare and ask them what your Social Welfare class is. If it's A1, you are entitled to the benefits when you need them.

However, they are expensive. Your husband will have to pay 10.25% of your salary as Employer's PRSI. You will have to pay ordinary employees prsi. As self-employed, I think that the employee is much the same.