Who can make a citizens arrest?

Laramie

Can anyone make a citizens arrest? Are there procedures for making a citizens arrest? Can a citizens arrest be made on a suspicion of something illegal?

I have no legal background. I understand from reading about it before, that a citizen can make a citizen's arrest in very defined circumstances, namely where a breach of the peace has occurred or is likely to occur. Other than that, I know nought about it. I'd love to exercise that right with one or two though......

Thanks for that link. I see that this is a subsection of that.

5) A person who is arrested pursuant to this section by a person other than a member of the Garda Síochána shall be transferred into the custody of the Garda Síochána as soon as practicable.

If this transfer does not take place what is the legal situation then? Could the person making the citizens arrest be accused of holding a person against their will?

If this transfer does not take place what is the legal situation then? Could the person making the citizens arrest be accused of holding a person against their will?

There are extremely few occasions when all the conditions are met to undertake a citizens arrest, in all other occasions you can expect to be prosecuted! In most cases the person making the arrest will not be aware of it: you catch someone in your house, a security guard stops someone shop lifting, you prevent someone leaving the scene of an accident and so on. But fraud, corruption etc... you report to the Garda - it is their realm .

Section 4 above refers to an 'arrestable offence' and this means that the maximum sanction must be five years or more in jail. Therefore the dog fouling neighbour should not be arrested - but most crimes have tariffs that are high at the maximum level.