What does the term "broker" mean to people?

Yellow Belly

This thread is really just a survey which I wish to pursue.

• What is people's perception when someone is referred to as a "broker" whether it is in the context of insurance, stocks or mortgages?
  • Do you know the difference between the 3 levels of authorisation below?
To be honest to everyone reading this thread- I am a broker (authorised advisor regulated by The Financial Regulator) and a former banker. I am just interested to get peoples opinion of our business, and also to see do people actually make any distinction between the 3 current forms of authorisation:

1. Tied Agents
  2. Multi Agency Intermediaries
  3. Authorised Advisors
All opinions bad & good will be appreciated as I know that certain individuals in our industry have been dishonest & created bad feeling, however there are also many capable, honest people who assist people also.

Thank you in advance for your opinion.

Broker is someone who brokers and sells product. They are commission driven and this motivation creates a conflict of interest that can result in inappropriate products being sold.

Broker model is from the stone ages and nearly all tied agents and multi agency intermedaries have lost a fortune for thier clients in recent years. Many may even be sued by disgruntled clients.

Fee based wealth management is essential for all and is the way the financial industry has gone in the UK and will go here.

In the context of mortgages they are completed unncessary as there is no 'whole of market service' and there is no policed mechanism to avoid them promoting mortgage which pay them the best commission.