Variation in Iseq Index and Iseq 20 etf

Sailor

I was looking at prices over the last few days, and at the close of business today, the Irish SE Index is down -134.1(-1.43%), while the Iseq 20 etf is up +40(+2.15%)
I am new to this and i do not understand, why the variation is so large, given that most of the larger weighting stocks are down.

I do not think so as it started the day close to €18 and ended the day at exactly €19

Trading in the ETF will cause the variation - if all of the stocks in the index are down during the day the ISEQ index will also be down ,however if investors in the ETF buy because they feel positive about the prospects for the market going forward, the ETF will be up.

Trading in the ETF will cause the variation - if all of the stocks in the index are down during the day the ISEQ index will also be down ,however if investors in the ETF buy because they feel positive about the prospects for the market going forward, the ETF will be up.

I was actually surprised by this but I guess it makes sense. Its not something thats widely publicised when reading about the ETF. Articles usually say that the ETF will almost always track the index but I guess this isnt exactly the case.

Is it fair to say though that while the performance of the index and ETF itself might vary slightly day to day they are almost always equal?

I was actually surprised by this but I guess it makes sense. Its not something thats widely publicised when reading about the ETF. Articles usually say that the ETF will almost always track the index but I guess this isnt exactly the case.

Is it fair to say though that while the performance of the index and ETF itself might vary slightly day to day they are almost always equal?