Vanguard PRSA

poppie

I'm sure this question will give the true finance guys a giggle. But someone once said there is no such thing as a bad question...so here goes!

Is there anyway one can go directly to Vanguard, bypassing the provider. Ie Standard Life, to start a PRSA?

Go gently guys! Newbie here

I'm sure this question will give the true finance guys a giggle. But someone once said there is no such thing as a bad question...so here goes!

Is there anyway one can go directly to Vanguard, bypassing the provider. Ie Standard Life, to start a PRSA?

No. Only providers registered with the Pensions Authority can offer PRSAs.

and if you can believe it, the Pensions Authority take a cut of your pot too.

Thank you !
Off course they do

'A cut' that is often reduced or minimised by the rules governing third party PRSA fund charges, and no other pension products.

Gerard

www.prsa.ie

Last edited:
They take 0.05% of your fund each year, plus they restrict the variation of charging structures, meaning a PPP can be cheaper than a PRSA.

You could set up a self-administered PRSA, a structure which allows you to invest in a huge range of assets and through that you could buy Vanguard ETFs. But the Vanguard funds available through Standard Life will work out cheaper if your broker is offering competitive charging.

You really would despair, average savers are up against it when even the body regulating pensions are taking a % of their pots.

These charges are not insignificant, I have a 401K from when I worked Stateside, and the entire annual fee is same amount the Pensions Authority is charging alone.

You really would despair, average savers are up against it when even the body regulating pensions are taking a % of their pots.