To use a mortgage broker or not to use a mortgage broker, that is the question

I am a mortgage broker and so am 100% biased but I'll give you my two cents worth,

Advantages of using a mortgage broker,

- broker can offer you wider range of options
- going direct restricts your options, both in terms of rates and criteria
- a broker can give you a better chance of getting a mortgage in the future if you cannot get one now. This can be done by keeping your application informal until ready. If declined directly by a bank, you could be forever on their unforgiving database.
- most mortgage brokers will offer a more competitive deal on your insurance too
- a broker will package and present your application properly to give you the best chance with our (Irish citizens) banks miserly mortgage underwriters
- a broker will manage your application from start to finish, going above and beyond to make sure your application is processed in the most efficient mannor, eg chasing the mortgage lender and your solicitor at least every 48 hours, keeping you up to date at all times
- brokers can save you time. No need for you to spend time working out what banks will and won't do and who has the best rates

Disadvantages of using a mortgage broker

- most reputable mortgage brokers will charge a fee for their service
- brokers cannot offer 100% whole of Market service as BOI, Ulster and NIB do not accept broker applications
- some brokers only deal with one or two lenders. Make sure you find one who deals with at least five
- as I said before I am 100% biased but honestly can't think of any other disadvantages