Key Post The difference between managing agents and management companies

purpeller

After some discussion, Shesells and I are going to do a series of posts on living in multi-owner developments and how to deal with management companies and management agents.

The following is written with the caveat that:
I am not a lawyer or an accountant, so am open to correction. I am an actively involved owner occupier director of my management company. Discussion is made in general terms because each company will have small differences in things like voting rights, apportionment of fees, policies for dealing with non-payment, etc. Make sure to read your own lease and memorandum and articles of incorporation.

I believe every owner and potential owner should read Robert Gogan’s book: An Essential Guide to Apartment Living in Ireland.

Basic difference:
Management company: company owning the development, each owner is a member. Likely called something like “Our development Ltd”

Management agent: appointed by the management company to run the day to day business of the development. This entity will also be a “company” and this had led to much confusion. Examples of management agents (by no means an endorsement) would be Wyse Property Management, ODPM, Smith Property Management.

In greater detail:

Any multi-owner development (mostly apartment blocks but increasingly housing estates too) will have a management company. This is a limited company, subject to the same rules as any other limited company in the State. It is very important to read the memorandum and articles of incorporation, these can be obtained from your managing agent, if you don’t have them with your purchase paperwork, or from the CRO for a small fee. They will give details of how to change things within the company, i.e. appoint new or different directors, voting rights at an AGM, etc.