Tax on second non-PAYE income

Rocka2

Hi,

I work as an accountant for a company in industry where I get paid a salary and pay my taxes through the PAYE system. A family member has recently set up his own business and has asked if I would look after all the company set up, filing and accounting work. He works for himself and has no employees but his income is significant enough it makes better tax sense to register as a ltd company.

Is it ok for me to just invoice him a fee for the services I provide and then do a self-assessment return? Can I set myself up as a contractor for this business even though I am already a PAYE worker? I have an ACA qualification.

One final thing to note is that the new business is in the UK.

Thanks for any help,

You don't need to "set your self up as a contractor " or indeed do anything except declare the income to Revenue. Fill in a form 11

You have an ACA qualification and you don't know this.:eek::eek::eek: What are the institute teaching these days.:(:(:(

Thanks for your reply Cremeegg. Im an accountant for a multinational and have always been a PAYE worker so this is outside of my normal domain.

Less than €10,000. I'm below the VAT registration threshold so I'm thinking I don't make any reference to VAT on the invoice if Im not VAT registered?

I want to make sure I approach this is the correct way as I'm not going to be an employee in the business. I wanted to check if you need some sort of an accounting licence to prepare accounts for a Ltd company which you don't work for. If that was the case, should I take the contractor route instead or is it simply just a case where I can raise an invoice each month/quarter for the work I carry out. Thanks!

You need to be a Registered Auditor, to sign audit reports, other than that there are no licensing requirements. A company only requires an audit if it is above a certain size.