Sole trader owe 25k & can't cope with business anymore...

stessed11

This is my first post, sorry, its pretty grim.
I am a sole trader (retail store), and I owe 25k. I can't get anymore stock from my suppliers as I owe them too much. Hence I'm not making any sales as the shop is so badly stocked. Its got to the stage that I feel physically sick when the post arrives or the phone rings. I'm ashamed of the shop when customers come in. A few cheques have bounced so theres no way I can get a loan. Personal credit is rubbish too as a result. I can't cope with the pressure anyone. I have no personal assets to use.

Sorry, I used to be normal! I loved the shop and still would love if it worked.

Anyone know what I can do, or been through anything similar? Any replies appreciated.

Re: Can't cope with business anymore...

First of all, sorry to hear about your problems. But things will get better if you take it step by step. Try and put things into perspective. 25k is not a huge amount to owe in this day and age and there is a way forward. My advice, (there are others here who are better qualified to give it, though) is to consider closing the shop and signing on for Jobseeker's Allowance. Then go the MABS, the money advice people and ask them to help you get your debts sorted. They have loads of experience in situations such as yours.

The main thing is to try and remember that it is not the end of the world to lose a business and have to sign on. You can bounce back from this!

can't possibly image the pain it is causing and I don't want to.
I went thru that 5 yrs ago and still am just coming right. Luckily I still have a home and my family.
I had to stop drinking (compounding the problem) as I needed a clear head, distance myself away from all negative things be it friends or enviroment then get financial advice from my friend who is in this field luckily. And that was just the start but a good one.