Setting up cafe:what work should I do?

T

Tea & Coffee

I am considering setting up a cafe in a Dublin suburb. I am currently in marketing; I have some "bar/hotel" experience from my college days ;-) but no management experience, or experience of running my own business.

I am in the process of preparing a Business plan etc and am giving myself 18months- 2 years to start up.

In the meantime, would it be worth my while to quit my current job and work in a coffee shop/restaurant and try to get some management experience or do you think I will learn it along the way in 1) preparing my business plan comprehensively 2) trial and error once I've set up (looks worried).

I know the answer is probably the former but I worry as to how I will survive financially if I do this...

Any suggestions?

Glad to see you're even considering getting some relevant experierience: some people just seem to leap into areas they know nothing about and expect it all to go swimingly, especially in this kind of area.

How about getting a part-time job that's relevant? That way you can gain experience and insight without having to take the plunge.

It probably won't teach you much about management and setting up and running the business, but you'll get to know a lot about the nuts and bolts of how a cafe runs; how customers behave; who the suppliers are; how staff are handled etc. etc.

You can prepare a business plan in parallel. The other thing I'd do is talk to owner-managers in the same sort of business (in a location that waon't see you as being competition): how they got started, what the big issues for them are, etc. etc.

The bottom line I'd say is that any experience is better than none, and will only increase the chances of sucess for the new business.