Review of Prime Time programme on auctioneers

mad m

Re: Illegal activities of estate agents etc.-Primetime 10.12.06

Well its out now what we always thought about them. I hope this sinks them.Good riddence.

I thought this was a bit of a damp squid, picking on an smallish EA in Dublin instead of some of the bigger ones means that this will be all forgotten about after Xmas, hopefully I am proved wrong.

Hi, i am quite new to this. But was very interested when I heard about this programme. It is about time that the scams were uncovered. As in any business i am sure that there are honest companies and cowboys. i decided to sell my apartment a few months ago and then withdrew it. I was totally messed around by valuation and advise from the great irish estate agent. And I am totally aware of what you are referring to. There is a 'bond' or insurance that can cover you for 12.5k in order for you to become a registered irish auctioneer and it literllay involves your financial situation being examined and getting a court date. There is a bit of investigation that goes on to make sure you are above board and have the proper cover. i know a 2 people in the country that did this and are now auctioneers.

Thought it was strange that that 'picked on' only one EA myself (maybe it was the only office they could get into?), and that they did not name the developer in Drogheda who upped the price on the guy at the last minute, or the EA who stopped taking bids on the woman's apartment while there was still interest.

To my eyes the really interesting new thing in this documentary was the practice of exchanging of personal financial information between EA and mortgage broker. Based on this Simply Mortgages should be looking at some pretty severe sanction.

"On the Late Late the other night, some senator registeres as an auctioneer to show how easy it was to become one.