Returning from abroad to unemployment status - can I claim the dole

M

moriars

I have worked for 40 months abroad - for a foreign company. I am now retruning to Ireland effectively unemployed. Before I left Ireland I have been paiying full PRSI for the last 20 years. Am I still entiled to claiming the dole until I find work?

The only to be absolutely sure is to fill up the application form (download from welfare.ie) fill it up, and take it with ID and proof of address to your nearest SW office

Have you already returned? If not can you apply before you come back in the country you are in and then transfer your entitlement back to Ireland. Not sure but otherwise you might run into trouble with the habitual residency condition.

You should qualify for Job Seekers allowance as long as you pass the means test and the habitual residency condition. You will be fine on the habitual residency condition if you can prove that you have severed ties to your previous country of residence, and reestablished them here. Get a letter from your old landlord/estate agent (if possible) confirming that you have canceled your lease there or sold a home there. Get proof that you lost your job & get letters/emails from utility companies proving you canceled accounts with them. Get paperwork that proves that you no longer own a taxed and insured car in that country. Get proof that you have closed bank accounts in that country etc etc. Then get together proof that shows that you have committed to living in Ireland permanantly again...a copy of a lease in your name, electricity, phone telly etc etc bills in your name etc etc.